Choosing The Right DUI Lawyer In Las Vegas & Knowing The Law

Being arrested in Nevada for a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is not a charge to be taken lightly. When charged with a DUI, you face extremely severe penalties which include community service, jail time, losing your driver’s license, thousands of dollars in fines, and multiple DUI classes. Because DUI cases require an in-depth understanding of Nevada’s complex DUI laws, it is imperative to hire a knowledgeable, experienced attorney who will aggressively protect your interests and help you maintain your freedom.

Attorney Mark Coburn is a Nevada-licensed Criminal Defense Lawyer with over 17 years of experience. He has helped thousands of accused drunk drivers facing intimidating DUI charges throughout Southern Nevada. Mark Coburn’s DUI Defense Team will guide you through the legal process by having your charges completely dropped or significantly lowered, keeping your police record clean and helping you maintain your driving privileges. Unlike many fly-by-night ticket offices, we are one of Las Vegas’ most trustworthy, compassionate Law Offices, who will provide your case with the personal care and ethical attention it deserves.

In the past six months alone, Attorney Mark Coburn has successfully helped dozens of clients facing stressful DUI charges by having them reduced to Reckless Driving charges. For example, individuals with BAC levels of .16, .23. and .11 have had their DUI charges drastically dropped to reckless driving– saving them from hours in community service and DUI class, thousands of dollars in fines, and from jail time.

Call us today for a Free DUI consultation at:  (702) 382-2000

To better help you understand the basics of Nevada’s DUI Laws and DUI terms, see below:

Breathalyzer – if the breathalyzer returns a reading of 0.08 or higher, the Nevada DMV will automatically and immediately suspend your license for 90 days. The police will give you notice of this along with further instructions (usually printed on a pink sheet of paper). From that point on, you have 10 days to request a hearing at the DMV. The DMV will set the hearing for one month after they receive your request. Your license will only be valid during the window of time that you are waiting for the hearing. If your license is suspended for 90 days, you may obtain a restricted license after 45 days of suspension.

Blood test – blood test results take several months from the time of processing until they are sent to the DMV. You should periodically check with the DMV to make sure they have not sent you a notice of suspension already; you need to be absolutely certain that they have your current address on file, or you may not receive the notice. If the blood lab returns a reading of 0.08 or higher, the Nevada DMV will suspend your license for 90 days; your license will be considered suspended from the date that they send you the notice. From the date that you receive the notice by mail, you have 10 days to request a hearing at the DMV. The DMV will set the hearing for one month after they receive your request. Your license will only be valid during the window of time that you are waiting for the hearing. If your license is suspended for 90 days, you may obtain a restricted license after 45 days of suspension.

DUI (in Nevada) – Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicating Liquor or Controlled or Prohibited Substance. 1) NRS 484.379 Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or controlled or prohibited substance: unlawful acts; affirmative defense; additional penalty for violation committed in work zone. [Effective until the date of the repeal of the federal law requiring each state to make it unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or greater as a condition to receiving federal funding for the construction of highways in this State.]

DUI Possible Penalties

FIRST OFFENSE

  • Between 2 days and 6 months in jail
  • 48 to 96 hours of community service
  • A fine of between $580 and $2000
  • Required attendance in a substance abuse educational program
  • Required attendance in DUI school
  • Required attendance in a “victim impact panel”
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for at least 90 days

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Between 10 days and 6 months in jail
  • 48 to 96 hours of community service
  • A fine of between $580 and $2000
  • Required attendance in a substance abuse therapy program
  • Required attendance in DUI school
  • Required attendance in a “victim impact panel”
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for at least ONE YEAR.

THIRD OFFENSE

  • Category B Felony
  • At least 1 year in jail and up to 6 years
  • A fine of at least $2,000 and up to over $5,000
  • Required attendance in DUI school
  • Required attendance in a “victim impact panel”
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for at least THREE YEARS.

 

 

bbb-resized
avvo-resized
nevadaseal-resized
Get-Carded-Logo-resized
njaresized
Public-Justice-Logo-resized
nacdl-resized
americanjustice-resized

Free Consultation

Simply Click The Button Above or CLICK TO CALL AT (702)-382-2000
WE ARE OPEN 24/7

Why Hire Us?

We care, we communicate & we have 20+ years of experience.
Please click to learn more