Another DUI Accident in Las Vegas

Each year, far too many individuals are killed or seriously injured as a result of DUI accidents in Southern Nevada. Most recently reported, a man suspected of driving while under the influence crashed into a motorcycle, badly injuring the rider.

The rider, upon being hit, was thrown violently into the road and lay there suffering until he was taken to University Medical Center to be treated for his injuries.
The driver who was the cause of the DUI collision, and who was also suspected of speeding, was 29 year old Anthony Munoz. As if it wasn’t bad enough that Munoz was speeding, driving drunk, and hit a motorcycle, Munoz also fled the scene of the accident. He eventually lost control of his Kia Sorento and drove off the road, where he and a passenger attempted to flee on foot until officers caught them. Munoz was arrested on counts of driving under the influence and hit-and-run.
Some reminders from the Law Office of Mark Coburn:
Nevada DUI Penalties
FIRST OFFENSE
· Between 2 days and 6 months in jail
· 48 to 96 hours of community service
· A fine of between $580 and $2000
· Required attendance in a substance abuse educational program
· Required attendance in DUI school
· Required attendance in a “victim impact panel”
· Revocation of your driver’s license for at least 90 days
SECOND OFFENSE
· Between 10 days and 6 months in jail
· 48 to 96 hours of community service
· A fine of between $580 and $2000
· Required attendance in a substance abuse therapy program
· Required attendance in DUI school
· Required attendance in a “victim impact panel”
· Revocation of your driver’s license for at least ONE YEAR.
THIRD OFFENSE
· Category B Felony
· At least 1 year in jail and up to 6 years
· A fine of at least $2,000 and up to over $5,000
· Required attendance in DUI school
· Required attendance in a “victim impact panel”
· Revocation of your driver’s license for at least THREE YEARS.
Other Relevant Nevada Laws
Duty to Render Aid and Give Information (NRS 484E.030)
If anyone is injured in a car crash in Nevada, the drivers in the collision have a legal duty to render reasonable assistance such as carrying the injured persons to a hospital. In any car accident that results in death, injury or property damage, all involved drivers are required to stop and exchange the following information:
· names
· addresses
· vehicle registration numbers, and
· to show their drivers licenses (if someone requests)
Drivers are also required to provide this information to Las Vegas police officers investigating the accident, and to surrender their licenses to officers upon request. Neglecting the duty to exchange information and render aid can lead to misdemeanor or felony charges.
Misdemeanor Hit & Run — Involving property damage (NRS 484E.020)
Fleeing after being in a car accident that results in property damage is a misdemeanor. Nevada states that, “The driver in an accident resulting only in damage shall stop and move the vehicle to a location that does not obstruct traffic and remain at the scene until the driver has exchanged information.”
If you hit an unattended vehicle or other property with your car, you have a duty to stop, try to find the owner, or, if you cannot find the owner, leave a written note with your name and address. You also have a duty to inform the police department about the accident, but if you cannot because you are incapacitated, then the responsibility to contact the authorities shifts to any other able-bodied occupant in the car. (NRS 484E.040; NRS 484E.050)
Penalties for leaving the scene of a car accident in Las Vegas that caused only property damage include:
· up to six months in jail, and/or
· a fine of up to $1,000, and
· six (6) demerit points to your license.

Felony Hit & Run — Involving death or bodily injury (NRS 484E.010)
Fleeing the scene after a car crash that results in bodily injury or death is a category B felony. The abridged legal definition of felony “hit and run” in Nevada states that, “The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury to or the death of a person shall immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident and exchange information and render aid.”
Penalties include:
· two to fifteen years in prison, and
· a fine of $2,000 to $5,000, and
· possible license suspension or revocation.

Have you been involved in a DUI accident or hit and run in Nevada? Whether you were the cause of the accident, or you were an innocent victim, we can help. Call the Law Office of Mark Coburn today at (702) 382-2000 for a free consultation.

Las Vegas DUI Attorney, 20 Years Experience

 

 

Submit a Comment

bbb-resized
avvo-resized
nevadaseal-resized
Get-Carded-Logo-resized
njaresized
Public-Justice-Logo-resized
nacdl-resized
americanjustice-resized

Free Consultation

Simply Click The Button Above or CLICK TO CALL AT (702)-382-2000
WE ARE OPEN 24/7

Why Hire Us?

We care, we communicate & we have 20+ years of experience.
Please click to learn more